Coventry University Graduate fashion show at the Lancaster London Hotel

23Sep10

Last week I had an invite from the fashion department at Coventry University to come along and photograph the graduate fashion show. As I have never photographed a catwalk show before but have always been interested in fashion photography, I thought I would go along and see what it was like. The whole event was free including travel and drinks/snacks at the show and everything was very well organised.

I went along with fellow photography student Dean O’Brien. Luckily we managed to get seats right at the front and once we had our cameras set up we were ready to go. The room was obviously dark with only little lighting so I new it was going to be a task to get the exposure correct. I used an external flash ( Canon 580 EXII) on the camera with a zoom lens (70-200mm). The close up shots were fine to get correctly exposed, but when the models were at the back of the stage the flash just wasn’t giving out enough light.

The show went on for just under an hour, with plenty of different outfits to give individual images. The event was very professional and the venue was perfect. From going to shows like this you can mix and connect with other people who are involved in photography. Therefore I would be very willing to go to more events in the future, just to get connections aswell as experience for yourself.

Overall the day was brilliant and I would definitely recommend anyone who is interested in fashion photography to go to events like this.

Below are a selection of images from the day.



No Responses Yet to “Coventry University Graduate fashion show at the Lancaster London Hotel”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment